There is always a Choice to Turn Back towards Restoration…

Do Not be Unequally Yoked

Says a manuscript written centuries ago. I wonder how many of us understand what this means. I feel that a village life would speak about this than our urban lives. They live mainly on agriculture or something very much related to nature. Let’s take a walk through the paddy fields of South India.

As we walk on the path made between the paddy fields, we notice that farmer, full of dirt on his body, wear just a cloth to cover his dignity, is trying to till the field with two bulls and the plough. We see that both the bulls are connected and steered together with the help of the plough. The part of wood which will be fixed on the bull would be yoke.  In this technique, it is very necessary that both bulls are equally sized. If unequal, the steering of the bulls become difficult, and the plough wouldn’t go in the  desired direction. It would also cause discomfort for the bulls.

This one of the most important matters in relationships which we ignore/miss when we enter into an emotional bondage of relationship calling it “in love”. Mainly because of this, many of the relationships ends up breaking up or in disappointment or frustration. To those who are not sure what I’m talking about, let me try to explain.

Each and every person is unique, special, precious, and different in their gifts and abilities. None can actually say that one is better than others, because everyone is an expert in their own gifting and specialties. All these unique gifts adds flavor to our passions and desires of what we would like to do in our lives. And God adds meaning to it all.

Let me tell you about my desires so that you might understand and be encouraged. From the time when I was a kid, I loved music and I used to sing, but even sweeter than now :).I loved playing with electronic devices and components too. Since my teens, I started having passion towards computers, and now into Philosophy, Art, and Theology. Still I have the passions and desires as mentioned above. So the work I’m doing right now and the things that I do, even this very article is pleasure and a joy for me, because it all out of my own desires. Thank God for my mother who is an encourager and who gave me the freedom to pursue my legitimate passions and desires.

If I start being in relationship with a lady who has nothing to do with my desires or my convictions, the obvious result would be: Either of us might compromise/suppress their desire for others ending up in a hidden suffocation, or it could lead to selfish pursuit of own desires/dreams in opposite/different directions ending up in a broken family/distant relationship, or it would cause high friction between us leading to disappointment, uneasiness, frustration, blaming, judging and finally breaking up.

I’m not going to tell you what girl am I looking for. 🙂 That is not the intent of this content.

It is true that none will have same exact gifts, but if both knows the meaning life, and if both have a common destiny and purpose, things could be more easier, merrier and better. If two people are running towards the same goal in the same direction, in their own flavor, both could help and encourage each other to move on.

Dear reader, if you are a follower of Christ Jesus, and if you have a desires to to more of Him, this article would make more sense to you than any other person from a different  worldview/religion. The moment you allow Jesus into your heart, what Jesus gives you is a fresh, new perspective of life itself. He defines it so clearly that you will stand in awe. What Jesus give you is not just an Eternal Perspective of things, but also the authority in His name to do greater things than anyone who doesn’t know Him. When God says not to be yoked with an unbeliever, He means it for our good and to preserve holiness in our life. A partner who doesn’t know Jesus can destroy all the plans what God has for you in this life. He/she can take you away from Jesus too. If you are in such a relationship, trust God and break it and throw it away. Never look back. I know it could difficult. Because I’ve been through it and I’ve done it by God’s grace. Let God bring people together by His Guidance, not by our Mistakes. If you need to speak to me, you could let me know. But if you are committed and married out of ignorance, never loose hope, God is a God who forgives and restores. Hold on to Him. He will help you out.

Leave a Reply

